NAMES of nominees from President Buhari FOR 2019 cabinet

President Buhari submits names of new cabinet nominees for parliamentary approval

Ahmed Lawan, President of the Senate, said the screening of the chosen people will initiate on Wednesday.

This is coming almost two months after he was confirmed as President for a subsequent elective term on May 29, 2019.

Buhari looks for substitutions for some significant services

From the new bureau list, the Nigerian chief dropped former ministers who involved six key offices in his first term. They include minister of industry, trade, and investment, Okechukwu Enelemah, minister of science and technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of budget and national planning, Udoma Udo Udoma and Audu Ogbeh, minister of agriculture.

Other dropped from the list are Audu Ogbeh, minister of agriculture and Adebayo Shittu, former minister of communications and others.





Nigeria economy needs proactive cabinet members

Few years into his first time in office, the economy entered into recession owing to a drop in crude production and prices. His administration also faced budget irregularities with controversies over padding by officials of government.

Since 2017, the economy is still finding its rapid recovery path. In 2018, the country posted a 1.93% GDP growth rate compared to 0.82% recorded in 2017, representing an increase of 1.09% points. Investors are also keenly waiting for policy directions of the government in Africa’s largest economy.

The president had also promised radical economic policies to fix loopholes and surprise those calling him ‘Baba Go Slow’.


Fashola, Amaechi, Zainab Ahmed returning as cabinet members

Former governor of Lagos state and minister of power, works and housing, Babatunde FasholaZainab Ahmed, former minister of finance, Rotimi Amaechi, former minister of transportation, Adamu Adamu, minister of education, Chris Ngige, former minister of Labour, are among returning officials in the new cabinet list. 

Also returning include Hadi Sirika, former minister of state for aviation, Geoffrey Onyeama, former minister of foreign affairs, Lai Mohammed, former minister of information and Abubakar Malami, former minister of justice.

Some of the new nominees are: Ikechukwu Ogar, Mohammed Musa Bello, Godswill AkpabioSharon IkpeazuMaryam KatagunTimipre Sylva, George Akume, Mustapha Baba ShehuriFestus KeyamoClement IkeRichard Adeniyi AdebayoAli PantamiEmeka NwajuboSuleiman AdamuMuhammad MahmoodSabo Nano, Rahmatu TijjaniOlorunnibe MamoraMohammed H. AbdullahiZubair DadaTayo AlasoaduraRauf AregbesolaSunday DarePaullen TalenSale MammanAbubakar D. Aliyu and Sadiya Umar Faruk.